top of page

Music Reviews #2

I’m back. So, for the two of you that read my original article, you should know that I’m recreating the format of my previous reviews. Short little snippets of my opinions on albums I’ve listened to recently. I have less to fill you in on this time, because I don’t have as long of a backlog. So, uhhhh, let’s get to it, I guess.

​​

A LOVE SUPREME - JOHN COLTRANE 9.5/10 (7/10)

Preface: I feel like I should like jazz. Review: This four part album behaves in some ways more like a very long single song epic. I say epic because, pretty famously, this album has a poem scribbled into the margins. It should have a strong emotional impact and I feel like I should like it much more than I do. It feels strange to recommend an album I didn’t fully enjoy, yet I still will. I gave this album two ratings, the one I think it should get (and the one I am basing solely on my enjoyment).

​​

FM! - VINCE STAPLES 7/10

I’m a big fan of Vince Staples. This album, while still not as good as his previous albums, is no exception. It’s kind of hard to describe, because the album is fun ​

​(coincidentally a track on the album) but he’s talking about brutal oppressive violence that is as indiscriminate as the weather. Doesn’t stop me from liking it though. The radio theme throughout the album is enjoyable. I just like Vince’s consistent and refreshing flow. Favorite Tracks:

FUN!, Feels Like Summer, Outside!, Relay

​​

THE PLANETS - GUSTAV HOLST 8.5/10

I think classical music gets a bad rap. I think it is more varied and enjoyable than it gets credit for. I’ve been trying to listen to it more recently, and since we played “Mars” in strings (and I like the album cover) I thought this would be a good starting

point. I’ve listened to a lot of singles, but this is one of the few full suites I’ve listened to. I enjoyed it and the theme. Favorite Tracks: Jupiter & Uranus

​KIND OF BLUE - MILES DAVIS 9.5/10

Again, on my quest to listen to more jazz. I liked this much more though. I think it is slightly more approachable, and it is certainly more laid back. If I had to recommend either this album or Coltrane’s one, I would almost certainly pick this one. When I want to listen to something while studying (or maybe writing a Pandemonium article) I would pick this one. I also like the shorter album length because I can listen to it all in one sitting, again as though it was one longer song.

​​

“O BROTHER, WHERE ART THOU” SOUNDTRACK - V.A. 8/10

I feel kinda weird putting a movie soundtrack on here as it isn’t like a normal album. But I like it because it has a lot of genres I enjoy and want to listen to more. Namely folk and gospel. I listen to a decent amount of folk, and would like gospel recommendations. Favorite Tracks: Hard Time Killing Floor Blues, Down To The River To Pray, Lonesome Valley, Big Rock Candy Mountain

​THIS IS HAPPENING - LCD SOUNDSYSTEM 9/10

​I really like the electronic and almost punky edge to the album. Usually I try and describe the album overall in this summary, but I feel my favorite tracks need some preface, and I think you should just listen to this album. My favorite tracks are “Dance Yrself Clean” and “All I want”. About “Dance Yrself Clean”, if you don’t listen to the first half of this song, you don’t deserve the second half of it. And about “All I want”, you should listen to “Heroes” by David Bowie first, and hear this song through that. Favorite Tracks: Dance Yrself Clean, All I want


bottom of page