top of page

Music Reviews #1: Recent Albums

In my first article, to illustrate my biases, I thought I should talk about music I’m comfortable with. Also, I believe this might give some perspective into what kind of music I’ve been listening too recently. There are some of my favorite albums missing from the list because I simply haven’t listened to them that lately, and the list might be slightly skewed because I tend to listen to music more by singles as opposed to full albums.

LUV IS RAGE 2 - LIL UZI VERT 8.5/10

The deluxe version of this album is rarely not on my heavy rotation on spotify. Bop after bop, if you need an album to hype you up while running, or to just listen to some catchy trap tunes, you should definitely take listen. Favorite Tracks: The Way Life Goes, X, 20 Min, Dark Queen

FLOWER BOY - TYLER THE CREATOR 8.5/10

The flow of this album is crazy solid. Each song smoothly transitions into the next to create a more relaxed atmospheric kind of album. That doesn’t mean you can’t get

hyped to this album; you just have to listen to it slightly differently if that makes sense. Favorite Tracks: Where This Flower Blooms, See You Again, Pothole, Who dat boy

AGE OF ADZ - SUFJAN STEVENS 9/10

One of my “have to listens”. A great album that struck me deeply and I’ve listened to repeatedly ever since. Kind of alternative but doesn’t stray that far as to be hard to listen to. If it wasn’t clear, I’m a fan and would recommend it to anybody who wants an album to listen too. Favorite Tracks: I Want To Be Well, Impossible Soul, Too Much, Age Of Adz

KIDS SEE GHOSTS - KID CUDI AND KANYE WEST 7/10

When I first put this album on, I was nervous. Kanye west, while I did like ye, the stakes of this album was higher. I was terrified at the idea that Kanye West might mess with Kid Cudi. But, I was pleasantly surprised. It was good, but it Was ONLY 23 MINUTES. In my book that's, not an album. Still solid though. Favorite Tracks: Reborn, Feel The Love,Cudi Montage.

WAV THEORY/COMMUNITY SERVICE 2! EP - TOWKIO 7/10

A rapper with medium lyricism, but occasionally very solid flow. Yet, I like the production and backing beats a lot, so I mainly listen for that and recommend others do the same. Favorite Tracks: Intro (My Calling), Tear Drop, Heaven Only Knows, Break You Off, Clean Up

COLORING BOOK/ACID RAP - CHANCE THE RAPPER 10/10

EVEN THOUGH THESE ALBUMS ARE OLDER, I’VE NEVER STOPPED LISTENING TO THEM. ACID RAP IS GOAT AND COLORING BOOK HAS EMOTIONAL VALUE TO ME. I CAN’T NOT TYPE IN CAPS. FAVORITE TRACKS: ALL OF ACID RAP, ANGELS, HOW GREAT, both BLESSINGS, FINISH LINE/DROWN

DESPERATE YOUTH, BLOOD THIRSTY BABES - TV ON THE RADIO 8.5/10

A very different sound that I dig. It creates an interesting atmosphere with lots of layers and layering sounds. I would recommend it even though it might seem somewhat abrasive at first, but I would try to stick it out with an open mind. Favorite Tracks: Staring at the Sun, King Eternal, Ambulance, Bomb Yourself

ASTROWORLD - TRAVIS SCOTT 6.5/10

I’ve mainly been listening to this because its a new release. It’s rather good, but I personally am not always the biggest fan of the aesthetic and lots of the songs sound very similar to each other. I know that's what people who don’t know any better often say, but I still feel that's true. Favorite Tracks: Stargazing, Sicko Mode, Butterfly Effect, No Bystanders, Coffee Bean.

LIFE’S A TRIP - TRIPPIE REDD 7/10

Again, I listened to this because it came out recently and I was pleasantly surprised. I liked this album more than ASTROWORLD, and more than I thought I would. The first Trippie Redd album I’ve listened too, and I am glad I did. Would recommend. Favorite Tracks: Together, Bird Sh*t, Taking a walk, Dark Knight Dummo, UKA UKA

MAKING MOVIES - DIRE STRAITS 8.5/10

Gotta love some gold old rock n’ roll. It has a more rounded sound, if that makes sense. The sound is smoother and givesless of a jagged sound (more what I mean by round) One of my more favorite Dire Straits albums, and even though it’s only seven songs long, it manages to stretch to a still respectable 37 minutes. Favorite Tracks: Romeo and Juliet, Skateaway, and Hand in Hand.

BLONDE - FRANK OCEAN 8.5/10

As you can see by the rest of this list, there is a lot of hip hop. While Hip Hop can certainly, and often does, express lots of emotion, it is often more on the energetic side. Frank Ocean’s more R&B sound is a welcome calmer side to things. And, I love It. Favorite Tracks: Ivy, Solo, Good Guy, Nights, White Ferrari, Pretty Sweet.

THE SUN'S TIRADE - ISAIAH RASHAD 7.75/10

I like this album because, in some ways, it's a blast from the past. Smoother sound, and silky flows. No 808’s is refreshing in many ways. Good, old fashion, hip hop, the way it was originally meant to be (which I’m not saying is necessarily better, but still, I love to hear it). Favorite Tracks: Free Lunch, 4r Da Squaw, Wat’s Wrong, Park, Tity and Dolla

ILLINOISE - SUFJAN STEVENS 9/10

Listening to this album just makes me said that he hasn’t finished the state themed album series (or at least made it to Kentucky). While Sufjan Stevens can be very pretentious at times, I’m still a fan. Both this album ad Age of Adz are great and I would recommend anybody take a listen. Favorite Tracks: Decatur, or, Round of Applause for Your Stepmother, John Wayne Gacy, Jr., "They Are Night Zombies!! They Are Neighbors!! They Have Come Back from the Dead!! Ahhhh!"

CHAXSTHEXRY - SCARLXRD 6.5/10

He is definitely cheesy and screams “I’m trying to be edgy”. But, he has energy and sometimes you just need to feel that RAGE.


bottom of page